Caraval - Stephanie Garber


Stephanie Garber loves Disneyland because it’s the one place on earth where she feels as if the fantastical stories she loves to write about could actually come to life. When she’s not writing young adult fantasy, she teaches creative writing at a private college in northern California, where she’s known for turning assignments into games and taking students on field trips that involve book signings. Caraval is her debut novel. Visit Stephanie online @SGarberGirl or stephaniegarberauthor.com.


Welcome, welcome to Caraval—Stephanie Garber's sweeping tale of the unbreakable bond between two sisters that's destined to become a sensation. 


Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their ruthless father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the legendary, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett's long-dreamt-of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor who she has just met, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval's mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season's Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nonetheless soon becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

“A magnificent debut. Intriguing characters, an imaginative setting, and evocative writing combine to create a spellbinding tale of love, loss, sacrifice and hope. Captivating, intoxicating.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A spellbinding tale of sisterhood, love, and betrayal. Like her characters, I lost myself in the dangerous, enchanting world she created and never wanted to come out.” —Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Ember in the Ashes

“Enchanting and mysterious, Stephanie Garber's Caraval is a story rich with sumptuous detail, beautifully written.” —Renée Ahdieh, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn

"Caraval shimmers with magic. Inventive and delightful." —Marie Rutkoski, New York Times bestselling author of The Winner's Curse

“In a book where nothing is at it appears, one thing is certain: Caraval is the darkly enchanting adventure you’ve been looking for!” —Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken

"A decadent and enchanting tale. Caraval will sink its teeth into you, and you will not want to leave." —Roshani Choksi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen

"Stephanie Garber doesn’t just dazzle—she makes me believe." —Jodi Meadows, co-author of My Lady Jane

“Caraval delights the senses: beautiful and scary, described in luscious prose, this is a show readers will wish they could enter. A double love story, one sensual romance and the other sisterly loyalty, anchors the plot, but the real star here is Caraval and its secrets. Immersive and engaging . . . destined to capture imaginations.” —Kirkus Reviews

"This twisty, terrifically fun page-turner is ideal for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, Neil Gaiman'sStardust, and fantasy novels where relationships between sisters drive the plot, such as The Hunger Games. VERDICT: A must-have fantasy debut for high school collections." —SLJ

“An inventive and colorful fantasy with steamy romance for good measure.” —ALA Booklist

Нема коментара

Омогућава Blogger.